The religion introduced in the foregoing pages is called “Islam”, and the Almighty has asserted in the Qur’an that no other religion is acceptable to Him:


إِنَّ الدِّينَ عِندَ اللّهِ الإِسْلاَمُ وَمَن يَبْتَغِ غَيْرَ الإِسْلاَمِ دِينًا فَلَن يُقْبَلَ مِنْهُ وَهُوَ فِي الآخِرَةِ مِنَ الْخَاسِرِينَ (3: 19، 85)

The only true religion in God’s sight is Islam … and he that chooses a religion other than Islam, it will not be accepted from him and in the world to come he will surely be among the losers. (3:19, 85)


Just as the word “Islam” is used for the whole corpus of religion, it is also sometimes used to imply its outer form. As regards its outer form, it consists of the following five things:

1. Bearing witness that there is no god besides Allah and Muhammad (sws) is His Messenger

2. Offering the prayer

3. Paying zakah

4. Keeping the fasts of Ramadan

5. Offering the hajj of the Baytullah


The Qur’an has stressed upon all these directives at numerous places. In a narrative of the Prophet (sws), all these five have been mentioned thus:


اَلْإِسْلَامُ أَنْ تَشْهَدَ أَنْ لَا إِلَهَ إِلَّا اللهُ وَأَنَّ مُحَمَّدًا رَّسُوْلُ اللهِ وَتُقِيْمَ الصَّلَاةَ وَتُؤْتِيَ الزَّكَاةَ وَتَصُوْمَ رَمَضَانَ وَتَحُجَّ الْبَيْتَ

Islam is that you bear witness that there is no god besides Allah, and Muhammad (sws) is His Messenger and be diligent in the prayer and pay the zakah and keep the fasts of Ramadan and offer the hajj of the Baytullah.[1]



[1]. Muslim, Al-Jami‘ al-sahih, 24-25, (no. 93).